Gov’t Mule to Release The Tel-Star Sessions – first demos. Hear ZZ Top’s “Just Got Paid.”

The Mule. Macon, 1996. Awesome photo by Kirk West

Gov’t Mule  will release a new archival album, The Tel-Star Sessions, on August 5 via Warren Haynes’ Evil Twin Records. The album features songs taken from the group’s June 1994 demo sessions at Tel-Star Studios in Bradenton, FL.

The sessions with Allman Brothers Band producer Bud Snyde feature the original lineup of Haynes, Allen Woody and Matt Abts. They were intended to  be the Mule’s debut album, but the recordings were never released until now. You can pre-order The Tel-Star Sessions by clicking this link. The new release will also include more awesome Kirk West photos like the one above.

Consequence of Sound just debuted a tune off the album, the Mule’s cover of ZZ Top’s “Just Got Paid.” “Early ZZ Top was definitely an influence on the Mule,” Haynes tells COS. “‘Just Got Paid’ was one of the first covers we worked up when we only knew a handful of songs.”

Gov’t Mule is currently in Europe. See their full tour schedule here.

The Tel-Star Sessions Track Listing:

1. Blind Man In The Dark
2. Rocking Horse
3. Monkey Hill
4. Mr. Big
5. The Same Thing
6. Mother Earth
7. Just Got Paid
8. Left Coast Groovies
9. World Of Difference
10. Bonus Track: World Of Difference (Alternate Version/Original Mix)

1 reply

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. […] The Mule’s archival album The Tel-Star Sessions, due out August 5, includes a cover of ZZ Top’s “Just Got Paid.” The album includes some of the band’s very first demos made in June 1994 at the Tel-Star Studios in Bradenton, FL. More info and here the track here. […]

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *